Rescue Readers

Rescue Readers

Research shows reading can have a calming effect on animals. Rescue Readers is a one-hour program for all readers, where participants read to the animals in our adoption centers. Readers provide soothing company to dogs, cats, and critters as they await adoption. As a bonus, new readers gain confidence and improve their reading skills. 

Virtual Orientation

Are you new to Rescue Readers? Before you and your child can attend a reading session, you both need to complete an orientation. In orientation, we discuss animal body language and review important safety precautions. Orientation sessions are offered virtually via Zoom and are approximately 35 minutes. The next virtual orientations are scheduled for:

  • Sunday, September 19, 10:30 AM - FULL
  • Tuesday, September 28, 6 PM
  • Thursday, October 14, 6 PM
  • Sunday, October 24, 10:30 AM

Session details

Each session will begin with a health screening and a brief review of the guidelines and new COVID protocols. The actual reading activity is one hour in length and cost $10 per session. 

Session availability 

Coon Rapids
Date Times
Saturday, October 2 11 AM, 1 PM
Saturday, October 30 11 AM, 1 PM
Golden Valley
Date Times
Sunday, September 19 9 AM, 12 PM, 1:30 PM
Saturday, September 25 9 AM, 10:30 AM, 12 PM 
Thursday, September 30 6 PM
Saturday, October 2 9 AM, 10:30 AM, 12 PM
Sunday, October 10 9 AM, 10:30 AM, 12 PM
Saturday, October 16 9 AM, 10:30 AM, 12 PM
Sunday, October 24 9 AM, 12 PM, 1:30 PM
Wednesday, October 27 6 PM
Woodbury
Date Times
Saturday, September 25 11 AM, 1 PM
Saturday, October 16 11 AM, 1 PM

Registration

Prior to registering, please review our updated Humane Education program policies related to COVID-19.

Register now

For caring, compassionate advice and resources to address all your animal concerns.

Contact the Pet Helpline