Rescue Readers

Rescue Readers

Research shows reading can have a calming effect on animals. Rescue Readers is a one-hour program for all readers, where participants read to the animals in our adoption centers. Readers provide soothing company to dogs, cats, and critters as they await adoption. As a bonus, new readers gain confidence and improve their reading skills. 

Session details

Each session will begin with a health screening and a brief review of the guidelines and new COVID protocols. The actual reading activity is one hour in length and cost $10 per session. 

Rescue Readers is currently offered at our Golden Valley location only. Sessions at our Coon Rapids and Woodbury locations will resume September, 2021. Check back for updates!

Session availability 

July
Date Times
Sunday, July 18 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM, 12-1 PM
Saturday, July 31 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM, 12-1 PM
August
Date Times
Sunday, August 1 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM, 12-1 PM
Saturday, August 7 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM, 12-1 PM
Sunday, August 8 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM
Tuesday, August 10 6-7 PM
Saturday, August 14 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM, 12-1 PM
Wednesday, August 18 6-7 PM
Saturday, August 21 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM, 12-1 PM
Thursday, August 26 6-7 PM
Sunday, August 29 9-10 AM, 10:30-11 AM

Virtual Orientation

Are you new to Rescue Readers? Before you and your child can attend a reading session, you both need to complete orientation. In orientation, we discuss animal body language and review important safety precautions. Orientation sessions are offered virtually via Zoom and are approximately 35 minutes. The next virtual orientations are scheduled for:

  • Sunday, August 8, 12 PM
  • Sunday, August 29, 10 AM

Registration

Prior to registering, please review our updated Humane Education program policies related to COVID-19.

Register now

For caring, compassionate advice and resources to address all your animal concerns.

Contact the Pet Helpline