Rescue Readers

Video URL

Research shows reading can have a calming effect on animals. Rescue Readers is a one-hour program for all readers, where participants read to the animals in our adoption centers. Readers provide soothing company to dogs, cats, and critters as they await adoption. As a bonus, new readers gain confidence and improve their reading skills. 

Participants must complete an orientation session. After orientation, they can sign up for reading sessions. Readers can choose to spend the entire hour with one animal or divide their time among multiple animals.

AHS will provide books to read and blankets to sit on, but readers may also bring their favorite books from home. Every participant will receive a special Rescue Readers bookmark, reading log, and certificate.

Cost

  • Orientation: $15
  • Reading session: $10
  • Rescue Readers pass: $50

Registration covers the cost for one reader and one parent or guardian, for participants under the age of 16. Parents or guardians are expected to be present with their child for the entirety of the program. Up to two readers may read with one parent. We are unable to accommodate unregistered siblings at orientation and reading sessions, no exceptions.

Rescue Readers is available at all four AHS locations! 

Rescue Readers orientation dates

Orientations are one hour and 45 minutes in length.

Coon Rapids
  • Sunday, July 7, 2 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 21, 10 a.m.
  • Sunday, August 11, 10 a.m.

  • Saturday, August 24, 2 p.m.
Golden Valley
  • Sunday, July 7, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, July 20, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, August 3, 10 a.m.

  • Sunday, August 11, 2 p.m.

Woodbury
  • Saturday, July 13, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, August 10, 10 a.m.

St. Paul
  • Sunday, July 21, 2 p.m.

Rescue Readers session dates

Reading sessions are one hour in length.

Download the 2019 summer schedule

Download the 2019 fall schedule

Coon Rapids
  • Sunday, July 7, 10 a.m.
  • Sunday, August 18, 2 p.m.

  • Saturday, August 24, 10 a.m.

Golden Valley
  • Saturday, July 6, 10 a.m.  FULL
  • Saturday, July 13, 2 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 14, 10 a.m.

  • Friday, July 19, 6 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 24, 12 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 27, 10 a.m.

  • Sunday, August 4 10 a.m.

  • Friday, August 16, 6 p.m.

  • Saturday, August 17, 10 a.m.

  • Wednesday, August 28, 1 p.m.

Woodbury
  • Saturday, July 13, 12:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 28, 10 a.m.
  • Sunday, August 4, 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 31, 10 a.m.
Saint Paul
  • Sunday, July 7, 10 a.m.
  • Sunday, August 18, 10 a.m.

Rescue Readers pass

Can’t get enough of Rescue Readers? Buy a season pass and attend as many sessions as you’d like, at any AHS location! Each pass is valued at more than $300. 

Each pass is valid for one season. Limit one pass per participant per season. 

Seasons
  • Spring: March, April, May
  • Summer: June, July, August
  • Fall: September, October, November
  • Winter: December, January, February
Pass perks
  • One free orientation session (if not already completed)
  • One season pass (can be printed or used digitally)
  • Calendar with the session dates, times, and locations for the season
  • A Rescue Readers button! 

Questions?

If you have questions about Rescue Readers, please contact our Humane Education team at 763-489-2220 or send us a message.

View our cancellation policy and FAQs.

For caring, compassionate advice and resources to address all your animal concerns.

Contact the Pet Helpline