Rescue Readers

Rescue Readers

Research shows reading can have a calming effect on animals. Rescue Readers is a one-hour program for all readers, where participants read to the animals in our adoption centers. Readers provide soothing company to dogs, cats, and critters as they await adoption. As a bonus, new readers gain confidence and improve their reading skills.

Virtual Orientation

Are you new to Rescue Readers? Before you and your child can attend a reading session, you both are required to complete an orientation. In orientation, we discuss animal body language and review important safety precautions. Orientation sessions are offered virtually via Zoom and last approximately 35 minutes.

Upcoming Orientation Dates

Sunday, February 19, 1:30 PM

Sunday, March 19, 1:30 PM

Session details

Each reading session is one hour in length and costs $10 per session. Do not register for a session prior to attending a virtual orientation

Golden Valley
  • Sunday, Jan. 22, 9-10 AM; 10:30-11:30 AM; 12-1 PM
  • Saturday, Feb. 4, 1-2 PM; 2:30-3:30 PM
  • Saturday, Feb. 11, 9-10 AM; 10:30-11:30 AM
  • Sunday, Feb. 12, 9-10 AM; 10:30-11:30 AM; 12-1 PM
  • Sunday, Feb. 19, 9-10 AM; 10:30-11:30 AM; 12-1 PM
  • Saturday, March 4, 9-10 AM; 10:30-11:30 AM; 1-2 PM

Looking for more dates? Rescue Readers who have attended Orientation may login to view all available reading sessions.

Woodbury
  • Tuesday, Feb. 28, 6-7 PM
  • Tuesday, March 28, 6-7 PM
  • Tuesday, April 25, 6-7 PM

Looking for more dates? Rescue Readers who have attended Orientation may login to view all available reading sessions.

Coon Rapids
  • Wednesday, Jan. 25, 5-6 PM
  • Wednesday, Feb.22, 5-6 PM
  • Wednesday, March 15, 5-6 PM
  • Wednesday, April 26, 5-6 PM

Looking for more dates? Rescue Readers who have attended Orientation may login to view all available reading sessions.

Registration

Prior to registering, please review our camp policies and FAQ for our cancellation policy and our most recent policies related to COVID-19. 

Register now

For caring, compassionate advice and resources to address all your animal concerns.

Contact the Pet Helpline