Shelter Vet Camp

Video URL

Is your child interested in becoming a veterinarian one day? If so, you are in the right place! Our Shelter Vet Camp is designed to immerse students in the world of shelter medicine. 

Students in grades 5-6 will have the opportunity to practice skills used by shelter veterinary staff, such as administering vaccinations, performing blood draws, and listening to animal's heart beat and lungs. Students in grades 3-4 will practice surgery skills on a pretend patient, design a blood model, learn to identify common shelter animal ailments, and more.

NEW this year is Shelter Vet Camp for 7-8 grade. Here we will take a deeper dive into common shelter illnesses and work with veterinary staff to develop a treatment plan unique to each animal. We will also learn about parasites, the danger of germs and much more. 

Upon completion of the program, each child will receive a certificate to commemorate their experience. Shelter Vet Camp takes place from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and is hosted at our Golden Valley, Coon Rapids and Woodbury locations.

Camp fee: $60 per child.

Register Now

Dates and locations for 2019-20

Golden Valley

3-4 grade:

  • Saturday, February 8, 2020
  • Saturday, April 11, 2020

5-6 grade

  • Saturday, January 25, 2020
  • Sunday, March 15, 2020
  • Saturday, April 18, 2020
  • Saturday, May 16, 2020

7-8 Grade

  • Saturday, March 21
  • Saturday, May 30
Woodbury

3-4 grade:

  • Saturday, March 7, 2020

5-6 grade:

  • Saturday, January 11, 2020  FULL
Coon Rapids

3-4 grade:

  • Saturday, November 2, 2019  FULL
  • Sunday, May 17, 2020

 5-6 grade:

  • Saturday, April 25, 2020

For caring, compassionate advice and resources to address all your animal concerns.

Contact the Pet Helpline