Shelter Vet Camp

Video URL

Is your child interested in becoming a veterinarian one day? If so, you are in the right place! Our Shelter Vet Camp is designed to immerse students in the world of shelter medicine. 

Students in grades 5-6 will have the opportunity to practice skills used by shelter veterinary staff, such as administering vaccinations, performing blood draws, and listening to animal's heart beat and lungs. The 3 and 4 grade students will practice surgery skills on a pretend patient, design a blood model, learn to identify common shelter animal ailments, and more!

Upon completion of the program, each child will receive a certificate to commemorate their experience.

Shelter Vet Camp takes place from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and is hosted at all three AHS locations. Camp fee is $55 per child.

Register for shelter Vet Camp

Dates and locations

Golden Valley

3-4 grade:

  • Saturday, January 19
  • Saturday, March 23
  • Sunday, May 19

5-6 grade:

  • Sunday, January 27
  • Saturday, February 9
  • Sunday, April 28
Woodbury

3-4 grade:

  • Sunday, April 7

5-6 grade:

  • Saturday, March 16
Coon Rapids

3-4 grade:

  • Sunday, February 17

 5-6 grade:

  • Saturday, April 13

For caring, compassionate advice and resources to address all your animal concerns.

Contact the Pet Helpline